Awards and Prizes

iREx members stand out for the quality of their teaching!

The silhouette of a person observing the night sky. (Credit: G. Poulin)
The silhouette of a person observing the night sky. (Credit: G. Poulin)

As part of the 2021–2022 edition of the Petit Nobel Competition organised within the Université de Montréal’s Physics Department, the teaching qualities of four Institute for Research on Exoplanets members were highlighted.

David Lafrenière won 3rd place for the three courses he teaches at the undergraduate level, including the introductory programming course and a 3rd year optics lab. Patrick Dufour obtained 4th place for his 1st year initiation to waves and oscillations course and his 3rd year astrophysics course. As for the teaching assistants, Myriam Prasow-Émond, who just completed her master’s degree, won the FemtoNobel, awarded by the 1st students cohort, and Thomas Vandal, doctoral student, won the NanoNobel, awarded by the 3rd students cohort.

It is a real pride for iREx to count scientists who excel in research as well as in teaching among its members!


About the Petit Nobel

The Petit Nobel Competition is an annual competition highlighting excellence in teaching in the Université de Montréal’s Physics Department. Recipients are chosen by the undergraduate students’ community at the end of each academic year. The Petit Nobels recognise five faculty members or teaching assistants, while the FemtoNobel, PicoNobel, and NanoNobel awards are given to teaching assistants by the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd year cohorts, respectively. Full results can be found in the UdeM Physics Department’s Interaction Newsletter.