Awards and Prizes

Eve Lee wins the Annie Jump Cannon 2022 Award

An artist's rendering of the Epsilon Eridani exoplanetary system (Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech)
An artist's rendering of the Epsilon Eridani exoplanetary system (Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech)

Eve Lee. (Credit: Courtesy Image)

Eve Lee, a McGill University professor and iREx member, has received the 2022 Annie Jump Cannon Award in Astronomy from the American Astronomical Society. The award recognizes her work on the formation of stars, debris disks and planets.

The selection committee noted that “Dr. Lee’s insight, curiosity, and ability to distill complex processes into key concepts have enabled her to make breakthroughs in understanding the formation of planetary systems.”

“I’m honoured to be recognized by the AAS and to join the ranks of amazing scientists who won the same prize in the past years. This is an exciting time to be working in the field of planet and star formation, and I’m thrilled to be leading and building a group of budding theorists at McGill and at the Institute for Research on Exoplanets.”

The iREx members warmly congratulate Dr. Lee on this notable distinction.


About the Annie Jump Cannon Award

The Annie Jump Cannon Award recognizes outstanding research and promise of future research by a postdoctoral researcher. It is awarded to a North American woman astronomer within five years of receiving her PhD in the year designated for the award. The Cannon Award includes an honorarium of $1,500 and an invitation to give an invited talk at an AAS meeting, for which travel expenses will be paid.

It is named for American astronomer Annie Jump Cannon (1863-1941), a pioneer in the classification of stars. Previous winners include Laura Kreidberg (winner 2021), a specialist in exoplanet atmospheres; Heather Knutson (winner 2012), a specialist in exoplanet formation; and Cecilia Payne-Gaposchkin (winner 1934), who first advanced the idea that stars are composed mostly of hydrogen.