Awards and Prizes

Nicolas Cowan, Finalist for the 2021 Relève scientifique Prize

Nicolas Cowan. (Credit: McGill University)
Nicolas Cowan. (Credit: McGill University)

Nicolas Cowan, Professor at McGill University and a member of both iREx and the McGill Space Institute, is one of the finalists for the Relève Scientifique du Québec 2021 Prize, an award which aims to highlight the commitment and excellence in research of a person 40 years of age or younger.

Nick has been a Professor in the Departments of Physics and Earth and Planetary Sciences at McGill University since 2015. He specialises in astrobiology and mainly studies the surface and atmosphere of exoplanets. He is particularly interested in the climate of these planets found outside of our Solar System.

The researcher mainly uses space- and ground-based telescopes to collect and analyse data which he uses to study the characteristics of various exoplanets. More specifically, the data seeks to measure the reflection of clouds, detect the presence of greenhouse gases via the infrared signature of the atmosphere, and heat transport, i.e. the winds. These data are used to create maps of the surface and the temperature of exoplanets, a method commonly referred to as exo-cartography. The study of the exoplanets’ climate also allows us to learn a lot about that of our planet, Earth.

Nick’s commitment to the research community is illustrated in particular by his participation in numerous NASA and Canadian Space Agency committees to promote the study of planetary climates and to contribute to the planning of future space missions to study exoplanets.

In addition to his work as a researcher, Nick is also involved in the Astronomy in Indigenous Communities program, which aims to attract Indigenous youth to pursue a career in STEM.

It is with pride that the iREx congratulates Nicolas Cowan for this distinction.


About the Relève scientifique du Québec Prize

The Relève scientifique du Québec prize is awarded to a person aged 40 or under who has distinguished themselves by the excellence of their research and who demonstrates the ability to establish and maintain constructive and lasting links with the research community. All disciplines are recognised for this award. Each year one recipient and two finalists are selected.